This is depending on your project settings, the project interpreter to be specific.

The project interpreter can be set to one of the following:

  • an interpreter installed globally on your system
  • an interpreter in a shared virtual environment
  • an interpreter in a virtual environment associated with a project

Now the approach I'd recommend would be to create a shared virtual environment where you install your packages to, and use this environment for all your project.

That way, you have the desired result of needing to install your packages only once, but still have an environment isolated from your system environment.

To create such an environment, follow these steps:

  1. Settings -> Project -> Project Interpreter
  2. Click the cogwheel / gear icon right-side the interpreter dropdown
  3. Select "Add Local..." -> Virtualenv Environment
  4. Select a path as a root directory for the new environment
  5. Select base interpreter you want to use
  6. Tick the checkbox "Make available to all projects"
  7. Click the "OK" button to save the new environment
Answer from bgse on Stack Overflow
Top answer
1 of 2
52

This is depending on your project settings, the project interpreter to be specific.

The project interpreter can be set to one of the following:

  • an interpreter installed globally on your system
  • an interpreter in a shared virtual environment
  • an interpreter in a virtual environment associated with a project

Now the approach I'd recommend would be to create a shared virtual environment where you install your packages to, and use this environment for all your project.

That way, you have the desired result of needing to install your packages only once, but still have an environment isolated from your system environment.

To create such an environment, follow these steps:

  1. Settings -> Project -> Project Interpreter
  2. Click the cogwheel / gear icon right-side the interpreter dropdown
  3. Select "Add Local..." -> Virtualenv Environment
  4. Select a path as a root directory for the new environment
  5. Select base interpreter you want to use
  6. Tick the checkbox "Make available to all projects"
  7. Click the "OK" button to save the new environment
2 of 2
4

You can download Package from the Pycharm IDE

1. Open Pycharm and Go to File
2. Click on Settings
3. On left Side, You will find Projects Option. Click & Expend it
4. Click on Interpreter 
5. A list of installed package will be shown
6. On Right Side, You will see a + button. Click This to install new package
7. A window will appear with Search bar, then search your package name and hit install button.

All steps are taken from this One minute Video.

🌐
JetBrains
jetbrains.com › help › pycharm › installing-uninstalling-and-upgrading-packages.html
Install, uninstall, and upgrade packages | PyCharm Documentation
August 17, 2026 - Create a new virtual environment and install packages that you want to be used in other projects. Then you can specify this virtual environment as a Python interpreter for the target project and all the needed packages will be available.
Discussions

python - Installing libraries for every project in Pycharm - Stack Overflow
Maybe you should use pip install but not the built-in package manager in PyCharm. ... Maybe you should set the interpreter environment that contains the packages you installed. ... To fix your issue, I suggest you should create a Virtualenv Environment and make it available for all projects: More on stackoverflow.com
🌐 stackoverflow.com
June 25, 2019
module - How can installed packages of a Python project in Pycharm IDE be used in every new Projects - Stack Overflow
I pip installed some packages using pycharm terminal: mysql connector, pymysql, pillow, etc needed for my programmes. I have created some Python files and imported mysql connector, pymysql, PIL, etc and my codes worked fine. Recently I tried creating a new python file in a new project, when I ... More on stackoverflow.com
🌐 stackoverflow.com
How to use the same python package in multiple pycharm projects?
Read up a little about pip install and Python packages. You don't really install a package "in Pycharm". Pycharm creates a virtual environment for you and installs the package for that particular VM. If you instead do "pip install " from the console then the package will be installed globally on your computer where all Python programs will be able to use it. More on reddit.com
🌐 r/pycharm
10
2
March 23, 2025
Installing Packages
The UI is generally pretty slow (at least for me on mac). I use a python conda interpreter and then to install something just open terminal from the bottom menu and run conda install . Its much faster! More on reddit.com
🌐 r/pycharm
2
1
December 20, 2022
🌐
Scribd
scribd.com › document › 606136647 › python-How-do-I-install-packages-in-PyCharm-for-all-projects-Stack-Overflow
python - How do I install packages in PyCharm for all projects_ - Stack Overflow
The steps include creating a new virtualenv, selecting it as the base interpreter, and checking the "Make available to all projects" option.Read more ... The document is a Stack Overflow post discussing how to install packages in PyCharm so ...
🌐
pythontutorials
pythontutorials.net › blog › how-do-i-install-packages-in-pycharm-for-all-projects
How to Install Packages in PyCharm for All Projects: Avoid Reinstalling – Global Setup Guide
This repetitive task wastes time, ... inconsistencies. Fortunately, PyCharm supports global Python environment configuration, allowing you to install packages once and access them across all projects....
🌐
MarketSplash
marketsplash.com › home › articles › tutorials
How To Install Packages In PyCharm: A Step-By- ...
May 20, 2023 - Step-by-step tutorials that take one job from start to finish with AI tools.
🌐
MarketSplash
marketsplash.com › home › articles › tutorials
Tutorials Articles | MarketSplash
May 21, 2023 - Step-by-step tutorials that take one job from start to finish with AI tools.
Find elsewhere
🌐
YouTube
youtube.com › phil parisi
How to Install Packages in PyCharm | Python Tutorial - YouTube
How to Install Packages in PyCharm! PyCharm uses virtual environments. Packages need to be installed in the virtual environment before calling them in script...
Published: February 16, 2021
Views: 46K
Top answer
1 of 2
3

Open File -> Settings

Select Project Interpreter than go to the gear wheel in the upper right corner and select add.

Use Virtual Environment, select your prefered base Interpreter in my case 3.6 and add the name for the virtual environment and where you want to store it

If you don't need to I would suggest to not inherit global site packages But you should select make it available to other projects.

Confirm it.

Afterwards the virtual env should be selected in project interpreter if not select it from the list. Right beside the List you see a plus, you can use this to add new packages with python (doesn't work all the time for me -> then use terminal)

2 of 2
0

I really thank everyone who made effort to attempt my question. After much trial, I was able to resolve it and I will post how I resolved it step-by-step to enable others like me understand better.

First, when installing our Pycharm, a folder is automatically created for storing every project we shall be working on, this folder becomes the database of our projects. In most cases, folder is stored in our C:\drive.

Now, open your pycharm window (I mean your working template), File ----> open (this diplays the folders in your drive) ----> select the folder for storing your Pycharm projects and click ok. NOTE: do not open this folder to show your projects, just click on it and click ok. There are some situations whereby the Pycharm projects folder is already displayed on our pycharm window, this is because we already chose it during our installation. In a case like this, no need trying to bring it to the Projects displayed in our window as it'd already be displayed in the Projects in our window.

Your Pycharm projects folder will then display in your pycharm window under Projects.

Click on the Pycharm projects folder under your Projects and it will be highlighted blue.

Go to settings ----> Project: (your pycharm projects folder will also show here) By the right, select Project interpreter.

Do your normal installation of packages by clicking on the + sign at the right extreme (that is if you haven't installed any package before)

Then configure your environment setting by making sure the boxes for inheriting global site packages and making this available to other projects are checked.

When configuring your environment setting for the pycharm projects folder, the location path should also end with your pycharm projects folder\venv ; please do not include the name of any particular project in the location path as doing this will make these changes effective in only that particular project files.

Then click ok.

Whatever project your create under the Pycharm projects folder will then inherit every packages you've installed in the pycharm project settings.

I believe this will help those who have been having difficulty resolving this.

🌐
JetBrains
jetbrains.com › help › pycharm › available-packages.html
You will be redirected shortly
July 27, 2022 - You will be redirected shortly · Redirecting… · Click here if you are not redirected
🌐
Reddit
reddit.com › r/pycharm › how to use the same python package in multiple pycharm projects?
How to use the same python package in multiple pycharm projects? : r/pycharm
March 23, 2025 - Pycharm creates a virtual environment for you and installs the package for that particular VM. If you instead do "pip install <package>" from the console then the package will be installed globally on your computer where all Python programs will be able to use it.
🌐
Reddit
reddit.com › r/pycharm › installing packages
r/pycharm on Reddit: Installing Packages
December 20, 2022 -

Do i have to install a package everytime im going to use it in a diffferent project? or can I just instal it once and have it in every project? Im installing through the UI in File, settings, python interpreter, and then installing numpy. Is this the correct way? im new to this, thanks in advance!

Python 3.9 version

PyCharm Community Edition 2020.3.5 x64

🌐
TMS Outsource
tms-outsource.com › home › how to install packages in pycharm quickly
How to Install Packages in PyCharm Quickly
June 22, 2026 - Yes. Both PyCharm Community and Professional editions support package installation through the Python Packages tool window, Settings menu, and integrated terminal. The package management features are identical across both versions.
🌐
JetBrains
jetbrains.com › guide › python › tutorials › getting-started-pycharm › installing-and-managing-python-packages
Installing and Managing Python Packages - JetBrains Guide
March 30, 2023 - In the Packages tool window you can type in requests and PyCharm will search the PyPi repository and return the most relevant packages that match your search. If you click the package name, the PyPi documentation for this package is shown on the right-hand side. Not all minor packages have PyPi documentation so in some cases it will not be available. To install the package, you can click Install which will use the latest stable version of the package.
🌐
YouTube
youtube.com › watch
Installing and managing Python packages in PyCharm | Getting started - YouTube
This is the Getting Started Series, with Paul Everitt.In this episode, you will learn how to create install and manage Python packages in PyCharm.0:00 - Intr...
Published: April 5, 2022
🌐
Quora
quora.com › How-do-I-install-Python-packages-in-Pycharm
How to install Python packages in Pycharm - Quora
Answer (1 of 4): You don’t install them into Pycharm. What you do is in your project you associate PyCharm with your projects environment - this should be a virtual environment (I think PyCharm calls them local environments). Virtual environments are not part of Pycharm at all - they are part o...
🌐
GeeksforGeeks
geeksforgeeks.org › managing-packages-in-pycharm
Managing Packages in Pycharm - GeeksforGeeks
January 17, 2021 - This option is not available for Conda environments. Step 4: At the end click Install Package. Based on your internet speed it will take some time. After all these steps in the bottom corner, you will get a message like “[YOUR PACKAGE NAME] is installed successfully". To uninstall a package in Pycharm follow the below steps: Step 1: Navigate to setting → Project Interpreter as shown below.
🌐
Reddit
reddit.com › r/learnpython › what's best practice when using an ide like pycharm, pip install via terminal or use pycharm's built in package installer. i'm experiencing some confusing behaviour when i compare the two methods.
r/learnpython on Reddit: What's best practice when using an IDE like PyCharm, pip install via terminal or use PyCharm's built in package installer. I'm experiencing some confusing behaviour when I compare the two methods.
January 6, 2023 -

I pip installed from CMD a python package "pip install example" and it installs to "site-packages" folder where python 3.11 is installed to.

That works and my code in pycharm runs.

Then I uninstalled in cmd using command "pip uninstall example" and reinstalled the package from within pycharm's package installer window (hit the + button, search package click install). First thing I noticed is I can't find where the package was installed to in my computer.

After that if I click run, everything works, but I can no longer run that script from the terminal as it says the package is not installed.

From now on then, should I completely ignore pycharm package install functionality and just install packages via pip from the terminal either in pycharm or CMD? Is this the done thing?

Edit: After deleting my test project to see if the below works, it doesn't! My new pycharm test project is pointing at my python install, where example package is still installed, but clicking the run button (or shift f10) yields the "no module named 'example' error. But it will run from the terminal. Please help!

I'm thinking that if I pip install via the terminal from now on, those packages will always be available so long as I point pycharm to where python is installed on my computer when creating a new project.

Thanks for reading, any advice here would be greatly appreciated.

Top answer
1 of 3
5
Pycharm uses something called virtual environments by default. It creates a folder specific to the project, that has the modules installed there instead of the system python. That is considered good practice because different python projects tend to need different packages at different versions. If you have one script that needs requests version 1.3 and breaks if you run it with any other version, what are you going to do if another script needs version 1.4 and breaks with any other version? Python can't handle two different version packages with the same name, you don't have a way to select which one you want when you do "import requests". So virtual environments help with that, each project sees their own packages, but then to run it from outside you need to run the python inside the proper virtual environment, not the system python. https://realpython.com/python-virtual-environments-a-primer/
2 of 3
2
PyCharm typically uses a virtual environment, which means you're using a totally separate Python interpreter from your system installation when running tests in PyCharm. If you look in the lower right of the PyCharm window, there should be an indicator of which Python interpreter is currently being used. If you click on it, you'll get a drop down of interpreters available, and your system interpreter should be in that list. Personally, if I want to install a package to my system, I use pip from the command line. If I want it installed for use in a specific project, I use PyCharm. But you can configure it to work with some finagling.
🌐
Reddit
reddit.com › r/learnprogramming › why do python packages need to be installed individually for separately projects?
r/learnprogramming on Reddit: Why do Python packages need to be installed individually for separately projects?
November 16, 2018 -

I'm using PyCharm, and when I install a package for some reason it only immediately gets applied to one of my projects, even if I have multiple open and am working on a different project upon installation.

Note that I'm talking about installation of a package using pip. When I use pip install and install something, that package will only be immediately usable on one of my projects instead of all of them.

For some reason PyCharm says "package installed successfully" even when I'm just adding an existing package to a different project, which is a bit confusing. I've been referring to "installing" packages for specific projects as "applying" them to that project.

How can I choose which projects has the package applied to it by default? And why do I have to go into settings and manually apply the package to my other projects, instead of it being available in my other projects from the start?

Any help is appreciated!

🌐
TMS Outsource
tms-outsource.com › home › how to install libraries in pycharm fast
How to Install Libraries in PyCharm Fast
January 10, 2026 - PyCharm runs pip against the project’s interpreter, so the library ends up in that environment and nowhere else. Open View | Tool Windows | Python Packages, or click Python Packages on the left toolbar. Type the package name into the search field.